Our People

Meet our Board of Directors and Executive.

Michael Smith

Independent Chairman

A highly experienced company director and executive, Michael was appointed Independent Non-Executive Chairman of Pioneer Credit in February 2014. In addition to his role as Managing Director of strategy consultancy firm Black House, Michael is Non-Executive Chairman of 7-Eleven Stores Pty Ltd and Starbucks Australia Advisory Board. Michael is a fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and in March 2014, was awarded a Doctor of Letters (Hon) from the University of Western Australia for his contribution to business and the arts. Michael’s previous roles include Deputy Chairman of Automotive Holdings Group Limited, Chairman of the Lionel Samson Sadleir Group, iiNet Limited, Synergy, Verve, Perth International Arts Festival, West Coast Eagles, Indian Pacific Limited and Scotch College.

Keith John

Managing Director

Keith has over 25 years’ experience in the financial services industry, both in Australia and in Asia, and is the founder of Pioneer Credit. He has received numerous awards, including being recognised in the WA Business News ‘40 Under 40’ Awards. Under his stewardship, Pioneer Credit has been included in the BRW Magazine Fast 200 at number 26, an award which showcased Australia’s fastest growing businesses. Keith has a strong interest in philanthropy and through his business and directorships supports numerous charitable organisations across Australia. In addition to his role as Managing Director of Pioneer Credit, Keith is an Executive Director of Midbridge Investments Pty Ltd and a Non-Executive Director of Bondi Born.

Andrea Hall

Independent Non-executive Director

Andrea joined the Board in 2016. Andrea is a highly regarded professional non-executive director who currently serves on the boards of Parenti Global Limited, Evolution Mining Limited, Insurance Commission of WA, and Fremantle Dockers Football Club and is a previous director of Automotive Holdings Group Limited, C-Wise Lottery West and Tap Oil. A Chartered Accountant, Andrea has a Bachelor of Commerce from UWA, a Masters of Applied Finance from Kaplan and is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand. Andrea is a former chair of the WA Council of Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand. Andrea is a former Risk Consulting Partner at KPMG and has over 20 years’ experience in governance and risk management, financial management, internal audit and external audit. Andrea is Chair of Audit for Evolution Mining and Chair of Audit & Risk for Parenti Global.

Ann Robinson

Independent Non-executive Director

Ann joined the Board in February 2018. Ann’s experience includes management consulting to clients in Australia and internationally, guiding clients through strategic reviews and performance improvement projects across a variety of industries. Ann also has extensive experience in mergers & acquisitions and post-merger integration from her roles at Wesfarmers Limited as an executive in the Business Development team and member of the Executive Leadership Team at Wesfarmers Chemicals Energy & Fertilisers. Ann is a non-executive director of Lionel Samson Sadleir Group and a member of the Curtin University Audit, Risk and Compliance Committee. Ann holds a Bachelor of Arts from UWA, Bachelor of Psychology from Murdoch University and Graduate Diploma in Applied Finance & Investment from FINSIA.

Peter Hall

Independent Non-executive Director

Mr Hall was appointed a Director in January 2021. Peter is an experienced non executive director and brings significant career experience across financial services, with specific expertise in credit risk in Australia, including five years with Genworth Financial Australia and New Zealand, initially as its Managing Director and later as Country Executive. Prior to his time at Genworth, Peter spent seven years at GE Mortgage Insurance Australia and New Zealand, the final five years as its Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer. Peter is currently a Non Executive Director of BNK Banking Corporation Limited (ASX: BBC), a position he has held since 2015, where he Chairs the Risk and Compliance Committee and the Credit Committee.